Meisterplan new AIDS Project Portfolio Planning

Good things come in small packages. Meisterplan 4.6 features several small but extremely useful functions for easier project portfolio planning. Now available is a color-coded planning view and the ability to simply extend a project and archive scenarios. With these features, Meisterplan fits even better to your individual planning process.

Get an overview even faster for your project portfolio planning

Meisterplan Role and Resource Planning

Two new features provide greater clarity in the planning of your project portfolio. Select the Resource View to instantly se a color-coded assessment visually displaying how your projects are allocated: planned only with roles, with resources or with a mixture of roles and resources. This functionality allows you to quickly identify the projects that are not yet fully planned, and in just a few clicks finish planning them.

The second new feature gives you more control of the overview of your planning scenarios. Less is more, archive scenarios that you currently do not need. These archived scenarios will no longer be displayed in navigations and planning functions. Only the most important scenarios will be displayed for further editing. But, no worries, nothing has been deleted. With one click you can of course reactivate a scenario and re-edit.

Extend a project with two clicks of the mouse – with or without resource planning

Meisterplan extend a Project

With these two new project extensions, you can plan closer for everyday:

Extending a project without changing the existing allocations:

Simply drag-and-drop, and extend the selected project to the desired time period. All previous resource planning and set milestones remain unchanged. For the newly added project phase, you can plan your capacity as usual on the role or resource base.

Extending the last phase of the project including resource allocation:

Want to extend a project with the resource planning of the final stage? Fret not, with Meisterplan it’s no problem. Two clicks extend the duration of a project. The last project segment is consistently extended along with the booked resource planning. For example, if the last segment planned has two resources with 1 FTE, both resources with the same capacity for the added project time are inserted. This feature functions excellently to simulate the extension of a project phase and immediately recognize the impact of these plans to your project portfolio.

The second new feature gives you more control of the overview of your planning scenarios. Less is more, archive scenarios that you currently do not need. These archived scenarios will no longer be displayed in navigations and planning functions. Only the most important scenarios will be displayed for further editing. But, no worries, nothing has been deleted. With one click you can of course reactivate a scenario and re-edit.

You’re project portfolio is planned, and now you need to extend a project – something that typical happens with projects. Projects can now be easily extended. To date already planned resources were automatically distributed evenly over the new project period. This is neither in the everyday planning, nor is it in the case of a planning simulation useful since the previous resource planning was futile work.

You decide who can view what – user-defined fields

Meisterplan User Views

With Meisterplan 4.3 we introduced the custom field creation to easily create individual fields for company-specific project information. Now you can assign individual rights to read these fields. Each employee has access to only the information assigned to them, protecting sensitive project information.The second new feature gives you more control of the overview of your planning scenarios. Less is more, archive scenarios that you currently do not need. These archived scenarios will no longer be displayed in navigations and planning functions. Only the most important scenarios will be displayed for further editing. But, no worries, nothing has been deleted. With one click you can of course reactivate a scenario and re-edit.